26th January-Republic Day(India)

गणतन्त्र दिवस (भारत)

गणतन्त्र दिवस भारत का एक राष्ट्रीय पर्व जो प्रति वर्ष 26 जनवरी को मनाया जाता है। इसी दिन सन् 1950 को भारत का संविधान लागू किया गया था।
एक स्वतंत्र गणराज्य बनने और देश में कानून का राज स्थापित करने के लिए, 26 नवम्बर 1949 को भारतीय संविधान सभा द्वारा इस संविधान को अपनाया गया और 26 जनवरी 1950 को इसे एक लोकतांत्रिक सरकार प्रणाली के साथ लागू किया गया था। 26 जनवरी को इसलिए चुना गया था क्योंकि 1930 में इसी दिन भारतीय राष्ट्रीय कांग्रेस (आई० एन० सी०) ने भारत को पूर्ण स्वराज घोषित किया था। यह भारत के तीन राष्ट्रीय अवकाश में से एक है, अन्य दो स्‍वतंत्रता दिवस और गांधी जयंती हैं।
सन 1929 के दिसंबर में लाहौर में भारतीय राष्ट्रीय कांग्रेस का अधिवेशन पंडित जवाहरलाल नेहरू की अध्यक्षता में हुआ जिसमें प्रस्ताव पारित कर इस बात की घोषणा की गई कि यदि अंग्रेज सरकार 26 जनवरी 1930 तक भारत को स्वायत्तयोपनिवेश (डोमीनियन) का पद नहीं प्रदान करेगी, जिसके तहत भारत ब्रिटिश साम्राज्य में ही स्वशासित एकाई बन जाता, तो भारत अपने को पूर्णतः स्वतंत्र घोषित कर देगा। 26 जनवरी 1930 तक जब अंग्रेज सरकार ने कुछ नहीं किया तब कांग्रेस ने उस दिन भारत की पूर्ण स्वतंत्रता के निश्चय की घोषणा की और अपना सक्रिय आंदोलन आरंभ किया। उस दिन से 1947 में स्वतंत्रता प्राप्त होने तक 26 जनवरी स्वतंत्रता दिवस के रूप में मनाया जाता रहा। इसके पश्चात स्वतंत्रता प्राप्ति के वास्तविक दिन 15 अगस्त को भारत के स्वतंत्रता दिवस के रूप में स्वीकार किया गया। 26 जनवरी का महत्व बनाए रखने के लिए संविधान निर्मात्री सभा (कांस्टीट्यूएंट असेंबली) द्वारा स्वीकृत संविधान में भारत के गणतंत्र स्वरूप को मान्यता प्रदान की गई।

Republic Day (India)

Republic Day honors the date on which the Constitution of India came into force on 26 January 1950 replacing the Government of India Act (1935) as the governing document of India.[1]
The Constitution was adopted by the Indian Constituent Assembly on 26 November 1949, and came into effect on 26 January 1950 with a democratic government system, completing the country's transition towards becoming an independent republic. 26 January was chosen as the Republic day because it was on this day in 1930 when the Declaration of Indian Independence (Purna Swaraj) was proclaimed by the Indian National Congress as opposed to the Dominion status offered by the British Regime.
It is one of three national holidays in India, the other two being Independence Day and Gandhi Jayanti.

India achieved independence from British rule on 15 August 1947 following the Indian independence movement noted for largely peaceful non-violent resistance and civil disobedience led by Mahatma Gandhi. The independence came through the Indian Independence Act 1947 (10 & 11 Geo 6 c 30), an Act of the Parliament of the United Kingdom that partitioned British India into the two new independent Dominions of the British Commonwealth (later Commonwealth of Nations): India and Pakistan. India obtained its independence on 15 August 1947 as a constitutional monarchy with George VI as head of state and the Earl Mountbatten as governor-general. The country, though, did not yet have a permanent constitution; instead its laws were based on the modified colonial Government of India Act 1935. On 28 August 1947, the Drafting Committee was appointed to draft a permanent constitution, with Dr B R Ambedkar as chairman. While India's Independence Day celebrates its freedom from British Rule, the Republic Day celebrates of coming into force of its constitution. A draft constitution was prepared by the committee and submitted to the Assembly on 4 November 1947. The Assembly met, in sessions open to public, for 166 days, spread over a period of 2 years, 11 months and 18 days before adopting the Constitution. After many deliberations and some modifications, the 308 members of the Assembly signed two hand-written copies of the document (one each in Hindi and English) on 24 January 1950. Two days later, it came into effect throughout the whole nation.